disappointed

I know people don’t read blogs to be depressed. But today all I can think about is how the author of one of my favorite books apparently took some creative license with his supposedly non-fiction story. This is sad for so many reasons, including the damage done to honest people who worked with him both here and abroad. On a much more personal level, I feel betrayed; I choose my favorite books carefully and only recommend ones that I love. I have recommended this book to a lot of people (many of whom I’m sure will be glad that I’m finally shutting up about it). It may be naive but I inherently trust people who write books. I’m mad at Greg Mortenson both for stretching his story and for betraying this trust. 

On a lighter note, possibly, I am also disappointed in the direction The Office seems to be headed post-Steve Carell. It is a sad, sad day. 

So as not to end on such a dour note, a short of list of things that are making this a good week: spring, visitors, the 3 year old kid who just requested a “small cup of coffee dad me too!” at the coffee shop where I’m writing this, getting to meet my friend’s baby for the first time ever (first impressions are important, here’s hoping he likes me), the last day of classes, a new episode of Glee, and EARTH DAY!!!!! 

2 Comments on “disappointed”

  1. TA says:

    I saw this yesterday online and thought of you. We have been selling this here and there at work lately but I think we are going to need to stock up b/c I’m interested to see if this press increases interest. Oh, and I’ve had a copy for a couple of months but plan to actually *read* it this weekend now 🙂

  2. TA says:

    P.S. We had someone come in and ask for “The Happiness Project” at work the other day and no one knew what it was and I yelled “Gretchen!”…you would have been proud. Sidenote: I think I need to re-read that…soon.


Leave a Reply

