tea and scones and hats!, oh my

Some preliminary thoughts on the royal wedding:

Kate’s dressed rocked and she looked awesome. I know everyone has already said that, but it’s true and must be said. I thought it was a little weird that her sister was also wearing white but she was pretty too. 

The hats! Oh dear, the hats. I was enamored with them. Most of them. Some of them were on the more, interesting side? Like Fergie’s daughters and Posh Spice (though David Beckham was carrying an awesome hat himself). 

The trees in Westminster Abbey were cool, and a little confusing to me. Are they always there? Were they brought in just for the wedding? Could anyone in the back actually see the wedding through the hats and trees? 

I loved the Queen in her yellow suit. It reminded me of Harry Potter, where Luna’s dad says you should always wear sun colors to a wedding for luck. Harry Potter is British so I think combining both him and the Queen in a sentence is acceptable. 

The hat that the minister was wearing reminded me of the awesome wedding scene from The Princess Bride (oh, irony). I’m sure there is a more proper name for both the minister and the hat he was wearing, but I’m not well-versed in Anglican vocab. 

3 Comments on “tea and scones and hats!, oh my”

  1. noellewyman says:

    Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what bwings us… togevah… today.

  2. Debbie says:

    The trees were brought in especially for the wedding, and the minister was an Archbishop 🙂
    I am English, but sadly missed watching the wedding – well, not so sadly actually as I was en route to my own honeymoon! We listened to it on the radio.

  3. Thanks Debbie! And that’s definitely a good reason for missing the wedding, congratulations!


Leave a Reply

