wanderlust

 
It’s finals time again, which means like clockwork, finals-induced procrastination. I thought I could avoid it this year since I really wanted to get it over with, but no, it was not to be. That is how a few nights ago saw me searching the internet trying to decide whether cupcakes would be a good wedding dessert, with the urgency of one who actually had to make the decision that night.

This period of procrastination was also subject to my sudden urge to travel. I mean I always want to travel, but two nights ago it was of the looking-into-plane-tickets persuasion. My life list is pretty heavy with travel activities like “ride the trolleys in San Francisco” and “cross the Canadian border” (side note: this list was written awhile ago and in hindsight this entry about Canada cracks me up, because it makes it sound like I just want to cross the border, not actually go to visit Canada). This bout of procrastination had me considering how quickly I could get to Canada and back (the answer: not very) and whether my sister would demand that I watch Homeward Bound 2: Lost in San Francisco (a childhood obsession of hers) before any trip to the Bay. 

I also re-encountered one of my all time favorite quotes this week, Mark Twain’s from Innocents Abroad (I think): “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”

I love that quote because I love Mark Twain and because it always inspires me to get moving and experience things. And I think this world could do with more broad, wholesome, and charitable views of people, yes? 

*In honor of Cinco de Mayo, this picture is from a trip to Mexico, circa 2004, pre-digital camera 

Leave a Reply

