crayons and other very exciting things

Practically every blog entry I’ve ever read on starting a blog says that one of the most important things is “regular entries.” At this I am failing miserably, mainly because my imagination is sporadic and I have started my internship for the summer. The job is great but consists of offices and meetings working on environmental legislation in a state whose political climate doesn’t really make that a productive line of work. 

Fighting this uphill but totally worthwhile battle (or rather, observing and tangentially participating, because I am just interning) is mentally exhausting and leaves me staring blankly at the computer screen in the evenings. I’m adjusting though, so hopefully soon I will be better at writing at regularly. In the mean time you can check out one of the more interesting highlights of my short interning tenure here, involving the NC House Majority Leader and American Idol. Always a good time. 

In other exciting news I saw Wilder Life author Wendy McClure speak last week (she was great) and while visiting home this weekend my mom found a pack of Crayola crayons from 1992 that had never been used. Very few things in life are as exciting as opening a box of new crayons, even if 9 years later the wrappers are crumbling and “chocolate” has developed a weird crystal covering (no big deal, I never used brown anyway). The important thing is that “cerulean” was still perfectly intact. We can all breathe a collective sigh of relief. 

Leave a Reply

