summer reading blues

summer reading

One of my favorite things about summer is that there is (usually) more time for reading. Fun reading, not the overly-dry kind that seems to be preferred by graduate school professors. But this summer I am struggling. It took several episodes of me sitting on the floor, staring listlessly at my bookshelf to reach a diagnosis. Hi, my name is Kelly, and I have a nonfiction problem.

My bookshelf is covered in nonfiction. Books checked out lately from the library? All nonfiction. I’ve read books about food policy, which I consider one of my interests (see: nerd), until my eyes cross. I’ve read about the guy with only 100 possessions, the woman who quit her job with Martha to garden, and “Bossypants” because I’m obsessed with Tina Fey. The last book I finished was about the gay couple who left their lives in the city to start a farm in upstate New York (one half of the couple was Martha’s personal physician until the economy fell, so it seems that she has inadvertently become a theme in my summer reading).

It hasn’t always been this way. I have several fiction series on my shelves, and I love Harry Potter as much as the next person. But as far as new-to-me fiction goes, my bookshelf is seriously lacking. One of my problems is that a lot of the “best”, most critically acclaimed fiction books have sad endings or are just flat out depressing (here’s looking at you, Lovely Bones). I recognize that this sadness is sometimes a realistic reflection of life, I just don’t want to read about in my spare time.

I’m thinking about petitioning Amazon to add an “exclude sad endings” feature. Until then, recommendations are most welcome. In the meantime, I will spend the rest of the week re-reading the HP series, in preparation for this.

Picture: here, via Pinterest

5 Comments on “summer reading blues”

  1. gigglebug390 says:

    ahhh!! i’m going through this huge nonfiction phase hahaha but i do like the sad memoirs a lot so i feel like we’ll have some issues…so i’ll hold off on recommending the glass castle or signs of life by natalie taylor

    i’ve read mennonite in a little black dress (holla to jmac!), and i’m currently reading garlic and sapphires (food critic for the NYtimes). i really want to read The Reading Promise and Tolstoy and the Purple Chair. let me go home and look at my bookshelf!

    p.s. i hate the lovely bones.
    p.p.s. i really want to read bossypants but the cover freaks me out!!

  2. Kelly says:

    Jess: Thanks for the recommendations! Haven’t heard of garlic and sapphires but will definitely check it out. I’m also thinking about Bel Canto per your recommendation (is it sad?). I’m glad to hear you also hate LB and I took the cover off of BPants while I read it.

  3. nikki says:

    Hi my name is Nikki and I’m a total nonfiction addict as well. I went through a memoir phase in college and now I tend to find EVERYTHING chick-litty (but I’m trying to branch out!)

    Also – full disclosure here – I’m leaving work early today so I can have a HP movie marathon in preparation for tomorrow. I’m completely dedicated to my nerdery.

  4. Kelly says:

    Nikki: Glad to hear there are others dealing with the NF addiction. In the name of also being dedicated to my nerdery, I’m pretty sure I’m wearing my HP scarf to the theater, even though it will definitely be 80 degrees here at night.

  5. Jo says:

    My summer reading pleasure is most Iris Johansen books. Love the strong female characters. I’m trying desperately to AVOID non-fiction right now because it’s almost school time and then my world narrows.


Leave a Reply

