“I don’t watch much TV”

Glee by Matt Baconanonymous’ and eonflux’s request

Or, that’s usually what I tell people. It’s true that for most of my post-high school life I have lived without cable. It’s also pretty typical for me to be ridiculously behind on whatever is most popular on television at the moment. That being said, I am a chronic re-watcher of all my favorite shows. There is not a line from Gilmore Girls I do not know. I re-watch the West Wing like it’s nobody’s business. I’m a pretty huge dork, and I’m ok with you knowing that.

I’m good at not watching tv, but once I see a show I like, I get hooked. Thankfully Gretchen Rubin wrote about this abstainer v. moderator thing, and made me feel like at least I wasn’t crazy. However that has led to my obsessions with The Office (admittedly 2 years after everyone else caught on), Big Bang Theory, and lately, Glee and Modern Family.

This is how it came to pass that the girl who says she doesn’t watch tv suddenly has a planner scattered with dates for homework assignments, midterms, masters project presentations, and seasons premieres.

So what are you watching this season?

picture source: Matt Bacon, here

 

5 Comments on ““I don’t watch much TV””

  1. nikki says:

    are you ready for this? here it goes: Vampire Diaries.

    • kelly says:

      Yesss. I have friends who are addicted. Trying to avoid watching it so I don’t get caught in that trap.

      • nikki says:

        BUT IT’S SO GOOD! which I hate admitting because come on, if someone told me to watch it I would laugh in their face.

        Kind of like how I scoff at people who watch True Blood. Get out of here with your fancy cable and gratuitous vampire nudity!

  2. Jo says:

    I’m loving the exact same shows you are, except I haven’t yet started West Wing and Modern Family. In addition, I watch Friends, How I Met Your Mother, Bones, NCIS, NCIS LA, Lie to Me, the Mentalist, and the latest love of ours is Leverage. (I get my tv show recs from my mom, and totally unashamed.)

    • kelly says:

      I completely forgot How I Met Your Mother! I’m just starting to get into it. Also I’ve always loved Friends. And NCIS is pretty great. You should definitely check out Modern Family.


Leave a Reply

